Washington primary results are in, voters say ‘yes’ to housing levy

The International Examiner August 18, 2016 0
Boxes of special election ballots returned to King County Elections in 2014 • Photo by King County.

Boxes of special election ballots returned to King County Elections in 2014 • Photo by King County.

With the primaries finished the first week of August, the votes have been tallied and the candidates are moving on to the general decided.

This year’s federal election for District 7 representative was a stiff race. State Sen. Pramila Jayapal (D) and State Rep. Brady Piñero Walkinshaw (D), passing King County Council President Joe McDermott by a two percent difference, will go head-to-head in the general election. Incumbent Sen. Patty Murray (D) and Chris Vance (R) will continue to the general election for the federal senate position.

For state elections, Gov. Jay Inslee (D) and Bill Bryant (R) will continue to the general for Washington governor while State Sen. Cyrus Habib (D) and Marty McClendon (R) are in the running for Lieutenant Governor.

Seven other state offices are up for election this year. Former Seattle City Council Member Tina Podlodowski (D) and current Secretary of State Kim Wyman (R) passed the primaries for the position of Secretary of State. For State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Erin Jones and State Rep. Chris Reykdal will continue to the general election. Sen. Mark Miloscia (R) and Pat (Patrice) McCarthy (D) will race for State Auditor after the current auditor Troy Kelley did not seek re-election in the midst of a money laundering scandal. Mike Kreidler (D) and Richard Schrock (R) will move to the general for the position of Insurance Commissioner and Steve McLaughlin (R) and Hilary Franz (D) will continue to the general election for Commissioner of Public Lands. Current Attorney General Bob Ferguson (D) garnered almost 73% of the vote, and he and Joshua B. Trumbull (L) will move on to the general election for the position.

The state legislative district primaries happened without much hullabaloo. Incumbent State Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos (D) and John Dickinson (No Party) will continue to the general election for the first representative position in District 37 while incumbent state Rep. Eric Pettigrew (D) and Tamra Smilanich (Non-Partisan) vie for position two.

All positions in District 11 are up for election. Incumbent State Sen. Bob Hasegawa (D) and Dennis Price (L) will go for the senate position and incumbent State Rep. Zack Hudgins (D) will go against Erin Smith Aboudara (R) for the first representative position. Incumbent Rep. Steve Bergquist (D) is unchallenged for the second representative position.

For Justice Position 5 on the Washington Supreme Court, incumbent Chief Judge Barbara Madsen and Greg Zempel will continue to the general election, while in the King County Superior Court Judge Position 44 race, Cathy Moore and Eric Newman will move on.

At the city level, Initiative No. 123, which would create an elevated park where the viaduct is, did not pass with 83% of voters choosing “No.”

Proposition 1 to renew a levy on property tax for affordable housing passed with 71% of the vote. The primary focus of the housing levy is to fund affordable rental housing for low-income Seattle residents. The housing serves people with disabilities, seniors, families with children, formerly homeless individuals and families, and people working in low-wage jobs who might otherwise live far from the city. Levy funds can be used throughout the city for new construction of affordable housing or for preservation and improvements to existing buildings.

Proposition 1 calls for $290 million spanning 7 years. The median cost to Seattle homeowners, according to the city, is $122/year or $10.17/month (based on assessed value of $480,000).

Oct. 10 is the deadline to register to vote or update registrations online or by mail for the general election. Ballots will be mailed out October 21 for the general election on November 8.  

For more news stories, click here

Leave A Response »

You must be logged in to post a comment.